Install of Scipio ERP

Hello All,

I am somewhat new to this side of computers and web development. I am helping to start a new business and we wanted to use SCIPIO ERP as our solution. I was hoping to host it along side our website on a subdomain but alas our web host doesn’t allow JAVA installations without upgrading our plan (I am a little frustrated, but will find the right plan eventually). Until we figured out a solution, I was hoping host Scipio locally on a mac. I was able to launch Scipio successfully utilizing the terminal to install and launch but would like a solution that doesn’t involve launching the terminal or being a programmer to open Scipio. I saw a download for Scipio for Mac on the website and downloaded it. I can’t install because it doesn’t recognize my Java. I have installed java and ensured that the JAVA_HOME variable is set correctly. All of that works, yet the installer is halting me. Any help is appreciated.

41%20PM
23%20PM

Hey and welcome to the community,

good to have you. Now, did you install the JDK or JRE? Unfortunately there are two “versions” of java - one for running java (Java Runtime Edition) and one for compiling and running (Java Developer Kit, or JDK). We need the latter. I am not working on a Mac, so I will have to wait for others to comment, but you should be able to download and install the JDK from oracle:

http://www.oracle.com/technetwork/java/javase/downloads/index.html (Note the “JDK” download link)

You can test if you have the JDK installed by running:

javac -version

from command line. “java -version” on the other hand will only tell you if a JRE is installed.

Hello! Thank you for the kind welcome! I do indeed have JDK installed.

Upon running your terminal request, I received the following reply.

48%20AM

Ok, interesting. The installers are supposed to pick this up. I will ask one of the fellow mac developers (@rentonize) to look into it.